WILL A DUI ARREST AFFECT MY MEDICAL LICENSE IN KANSAS?
The Kansas Board of Healing Arts requires that all arrests, excluding minor traffic or parking violations or citations, and all criminal charges, indictments, and convictions of crimes, including Class A Misdemeanors and Felonies be disclosed for Kansas Medical Licensure.
The Kansas Board of Healing Arts licenses the following Health Care Professions in Kansas
- Athletic Trainers (A.T.)
- Doctors of Chiropractic (D.C.)
- Doctors of Osteopathic Medicine & Surgery (D.O.)
- Doctors of Podiatric Medicine (D.P.M.)
- Radiologic Technologists (L.R.T.)
- Doctors of Medicine & Surgery (M.D.)
- Naturopathic Doctors (N.D.)
- Occupational Therapists (O.T.)
- Occupational Therapy Assistants (O.T.A.)
- Physician Assistants (P.A.)
- Physical Therapists (P.T.)
- Physical Therapy Assistants (P.T.A.)
- Respiratory Therapists (R.T.)
- Acupuncturists (L.Ac.)
What is the Impact of A DUI Arrest on a Medical License in Kansas?
While getting a DUI can be damaging and a life-changing experience for anyone, a DUI arrest can be potentially more damaging to some careers than others. If you are a doctor or other medical professional who has received a DUI, there are some actions that you can take in order to proactively minimize the potential damage to your career. These actions can be discussed with an experienced Kansas DUI Lawyer.
- A first-time DUI is typically charged as a Class B Misdemeanor in Kansas, while a second offense can be charged as a Class A Misdemeanor. A third or subsequent DUI in Kansas is a Class A Misdemeanor if both of the two priors are at least ten years old. A Third or subsequent DUI in Kansas with one or both priors within ten years can be charged as a Felony DUI.
DOES A DUI DIVERSION COUNT AS A CRIMINAL CONVICTION IN KANSAS?
If you enter into and successfully complete a DUI Diversion Program in Kansas the end result is the dismissal of the DUI charge, and not a conviction. However if you were arrested for the DUI , the DUI arrest must be disclosed to the Kansas Board of Healing Arts.
WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR DUI IN KANSAS?
1st DUI Conviction—Class B Misdemeanor
- Jail time: 2 Days in Jail or 48 hours Community Weekend Program ('CWIP') to six months maximum in jail
- Fines: $750 to $1250 plus court costs and probation fees
- Alcohol/ ADSAP Evaluation and Recommended Classes and/ or Counseling
- Driver’s License Suspension: From Thirty (30) Days to One Year Followed by Mandatory Ignition Interlock Restriction
2nd DUI Conviction—Class A Misdemeanor
- Jail time: 5 Days in Jail to 1 year
- Fines: $1,250 to $1,750 plus court costs and probation fees
- Alcohol/ ADSAP Evaluation and Recommended Classes and/or Counseling
- Driver’s license suspension: 1 year followed by Mandatory Ignition Interlock Restriction
DUI Laws in Kansas are complicated and a DUI arrest can negatively impact your career. Contact our Office today for a free Consultation .