A stop by law enforcement for a traffic violation will generally result
in a ticket for a 'moving' violation. Common moving violations
include speeding, careless or reckless driving, driving under the influence
of alcohol or drugs
(DUI), running a stop sign or stop light, making an improper turn, etc. The
state of Missouri uses a points system to identify and suspend or revoke
drivers who accumulate too many traffic tickets over a certain period
of time. The state of Kansas does not use a points-based system, but counts
traffic infractions as 'moving' or 'non-moving' violations.
This post will look at the Missouri system.
If you are convicted of or plead guilty to a traffic violation in Missouri
you are then assessed the corresponding points against your Missouri Driver
Record. For example, a speeding ticket will usually result in two points
being added to your driver record if it is issued by a municipal police
officer. However the same speeding ticket is worth three points against
your record if it is issued by a state agency such as a County Sheriff
or the Highway Patrol. A ticket for 'Failure to Produce Insurance'
can be worth four points. A first-time
DUI or Excessive Blood Alcohol Content conviction is generally worth eight points, a second or subsequent alcohol-related
driving offense is worth twelve points. For more specific point values
for different traffic violations look at Form 899 (/forms/899.pdf) published
by the Missouri Department of Revenue.
So how does Missouri's traffic point system work? If you rack up a
total of at least four points in a twelve-month period you will receive
a point accumulation notice or 'warning letter' from the Department
of Revenue; a few speeding tickets would do it. No action is taken at
this point by the DOR. If you accumulate a total of eight or more points
the DOR will suspend you for 30 days on a first suspension, 60 days for
a second, and 90 days on a third or subsequent suspension. The Department
of Revenue will revoke your Missouri Driver License for one year if 12
points are totalled in 12 months, 18 points are accumulated in 24 months,
or if you rack up 24 points in a 36 month period. When your driving privileges
are reinstated after a Point Suspension or Revocation, the Department
reduces your point total to 4 points, which is something like being on
'Traffic Probation'. For a year of violation-free driving your
points will be reduced by one-third; after two years of 'safe driving'
that total is reduced again by one-half. After three years of no violations
your point total will be reduced to zero.
After your period of suspension or revocation is up it may be necessary
to pay reinstatement fees to the state and have your insurance company
file an SR-22 form (Proof of Insurance) with the the DOR. The SR-22 is
filed by your insurance company, so if they didn't know about your
driver history they soon find out.
You can get a handle on your point total by requesting a copy of your Missouri
Driver Record , also you can now contact the Missouri Department of Revenue
via their automated system 24 hours a day at 573.526.2407 or email the DOR at
You have the right to legal representation in all traffic matters, whether
speeding tickets or a DUI charge. We can often negotiate with the Prosecutor's
Office to reduce your charges to non-moving, no-points infractions that
will not count against your Driver Record and allow you to keep your license.
Already pled guilty and paid a speeding ticket? In some cases we can file
a Petition with the Court, asking the Judge to consider setting that plea
aside and to remove that ticket and the points from your record, cancelling