DUI Defense Lawyer in Wyandotte County, Kansas
Charged with a Criminal Complaint, or Driving Under the Influence ( DUI
) in Wyandotte County Kansas? Once you have posted bond you will receive
a citation or criminal complaint with the first court date on the front.
Catch your breath, get your car out of the tow lot if necessary. Weigh
your options, and then talk to an experienced Wyandotte County DUI Lawyer.
Get informed; Take action to protect your rights and your future.
How Do I Request a Drivers License Hearing in Wyandotte County?
Your first court appearance may be a month or so away but the clock starts
running immediately on your right to contest the possible administrative
suspension of your Kansas Driving Privileges. In the State of Kansas you
have ten business days (Federal holidays do not count) or fourteen calendar
days (whichever is later) from the date of a chemical test failure or
test refusal to request a Drivers License Hearing with the Kansas Department
of Revenue. The Certifying Officer should have given you a DC-27 (Pink
Form) , the date of service is the date listed on this form.
Be sure to read the fine print on the DC-27. An Administrative Driver License
Hearing request must be made in writing and must be accompanied with a
$50.00 fee; failure to make a timely request and enclose the $50.00 fee will result
in the denial of your request for a Kansas Drivers License Hearing and
almost certainly the automatic suspension or revocation of your Kansas
When you hire the Law Offices of Charles R. Green one of the first steps
we take is to request the Drivers License Administrative Hearing on your behalf. This preserves your right to an in-person hearing where the Officer's
actions and any constitutional issues or procedural violations can be
reviewed; it also allows importantly allows you to continue driving in
Kansas during the administrative process.
Why is My Case Filed in District / State Court?
The Wyandotte County District Court adjudicates cases filed by State Agencies,
which include tickets issued by the Kansas State Highway Patrol, Wyandotte
County Sheriff's Office, and Park Rangers. These offenses can include
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) of alcohol and/ or Drugs, Possession
of Marijuana or other Controlled Substances, as well as Speeding Tickets
and other Traffic Violations. A first-time DUI charge is typically a Class
B Misdemeanor, the same as if it was issued by a municipal officer. State
Court does not necessarily mean the charge is more serious, however, District
Court proceedings are generally more formal than those of a Municipal
Court, and the procedure can sometimes be intimidating.
Felony DUI Charges in Wyandotte County
Felony DUI cases (Third or subsequent) are prosecuted at the State level
in Wyandotte County District Court. These cases can originate in a municipal
court in Wyandotte County, i.e. Kansas City, Kansas Municipal Court or
Edwardsville, for example, but then are dismissed at the municipal level
and referred to District Court for potential filing as a Felony DUI. Kansas
currently has a 'Limited Lifetime Look-back' to July 1, 2001 to
determine whether a prior DUI conviction or DUI Diversion can be used
to enhance a current charge to a Felony DUI.
Wyandotte County Information
Wyandotte County has a population of 157,505 according to the 2010 census,
]making it the fourth-most populous county in Kansas. It is the county seat
and its most populous city is Kansas City, Kansas, with which it shares
a unified government. Wyandotte County is located just west of Kansas
City, Missouri. Attractions in Wyandotte County include the Kansas Speedway
and Legends Outlets Shopping Center, Schlitterbahn Water Park, Wyandotte
County Lake, and Kaw Point Park.
Wyandotte County District Court is the 29th Judicial District of Kansas.
The District Court Judges have original jurisdiction over all civil and
criminal cases, including divorce and domestic relations, damage suits,
probate and administration of estates, guardianships, conservatorships,
care of the mentally ill, juvenile matters, and small claims.
Wyandotte County Resources:
Wyandotte County Courthouse
710 N. 7th St.
Kansas City, Ks., 66101
Wyandotte County Jail: 913.573.2861
Driving Under the Influence of Drugs,
Fourth Amendment: Seizure or Arrest,
Kansas DUI Laws