DUI Defense Lawyer in Johnson County, Kansas
Charged with a Criminal Complaint, or Driving Under the Influence ( DUI
) in Johnson County Kansas? Once you have posted bond you will receive
a citation or criminal complaint with the first court date on the front.
Catch your breath, get your car out of the tow lot if necessary. Weigh
your options, and then talk to an experienced Johnson County DUI Lawyer.
Get informed; Take action to protect your rights and your future.
Request a Drivers License Hearing in Johnson County
Your first court appearance may be a month or so away but the clock starts
running immediately on your right to contest the possible administrative
suspension of your Kansas Driving Privileges. In Kansas you have ten business
days or fourteen calendar days (whichever is later) from the date of a
chemical test failure or test refusal to request a Drivers License Hearing.
The Certifying Officer should have served you with a DC-27 (Pink Form)
, the date of service is the date listed on this form.
Be sure to read the fine print on the DC-27. An Administrative Driver License
Hearing request must be made in writing and must be accompanied with a
$50.00 fee; failure to make a timely request and enclose the $50.00 fee will result
in the denial of your request for a Drivers License Hearing and almost
certainly the automatic suspension or revocation of your Kansas Driving
When you retain the Law Offices of Charles R. Green one of the first steps
we take is to request the Drivers License Administrative Hearing on your behalf. This preserves your right to an in-person hearing where the Officer's
actions and any constitutional issues or procedural violations can be
reviewed; it also allows importantly allows you to continue driving in
Kansas during the process , (provided your license is not otherwise suspended
Why is My Case Filed in State Court?
The Johnson County District Court adjudicates cases filed by State Agencies,
which include tickets issued by the Kansas State Highway Patrol, Johnson
County Sheriff's Office, and Park Rangers. These offenses can include
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) of alcohol and/ or Drugs, Possession
of Marijuana or other Controlled Substances, as well as Speeding Tickets
and other Traffic Violations. A first-time DUI is typically a Class B
Misdemeanor, the same as if it was issued by a municipal officer. State
Court does not necessarily mean the charge is more serious, however, District
Court proceedings are generally more formal than a Municipal Court, and
the procedure can be intimidating.
Felony DUI Charges in Johnson County
Felony DUI cases (Third or subsequent) are prosecuted at the State level
in Johnson County District Court. These cases can originate in a municipal
court in Johnson County, i.e. Overland Park or Olathe , but then are dismissed
at the municipal level and referred to District Court for potential filing
as a Felony DUI. Kansas currently has a 'Limited Lifetime Look-back'
to July 1, 2001 to determine whether a prior DUI conviction or DUI Diversion
can be used to enhance a current charge to a Felony DUI.
Johnson County Information
Johnson County is has a population of about 550,000, making it the most
populous county in Kansas. The county seat is Olathe; Johnson County was
the site of contention and fighting between 'Jayhawker' abolitionists
and pro-slavery advocates during the period known as 'Bleeding Kansas'
. In 1863 during the Civil War, Confederate guerrillas known as 'Quantrill's
Raiders' , raided the Johnson County communities of Olathe and Spring
Hill, and nearby Lawrence.
Johnson County District Court is the 10th Judicial District of Kansas.
The District Court Judges have original jurisdiction over all civil and
criminal cases, including divorce and domestic relations, damage suits,
probate and administration of estates, guardianships, conservatorships,
care of the mentally ill, juvenile matters, and small claims.
Johnson County Resources:
Johnson County Courthouse
100 N. Kansas Ave.
Olathe, Ks., 66061
Johnson County Court Resources: